Sorry, These Places Are Off-Limits To You

Real History |

Diego Garcia, Indian Ocean

Established as a territory of the UK in 1965, a number of the British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT) islands were transferred to the Seychelles when it attained independence in 1976, leaving only the six main island groups comprising the Chagos Archipelago of 2,300 islands. The largest and southernmost of the 58 islands, Diego Garcia, contains a joint UK-US naval support facility.  The main island, Diego Garcia, is a military facility off limits to anyone not on official duty, but some of the uninhabited outer islands can be visited by independent yachters with advance permission.

Like it? Share with your friends!

Share On Facebook